Barry Jones Vision Oration

The Barry Jones Vision Oration

The Barry Jones Vision Oration 

The second annual Barry Jones Vision Oration is delivered by A/Prof. Kristopher Rallah-Baker, Australia’s first Aboriginal ophthalmologist.

A proud Yuggera and Biri-Gubba man, A/Prof. Rallah-Baker is a highly respected ophthalmologist and is one of the founding members of the Australian Indigenous Doctors Association, a Board Director of the Royal Flying Doctors Service, technical advisor to the Fred Hollows Foundation and Chair of the Vision 2020 Australia Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Committee.

Download a transcript of the oration in Word format.


As part of our work around raising awareness on critical issues related to eye health and vision care, Vison 2020 Australia has established an annual address, the Barry Jones Vision Oration, named in honour of its inaugural Chair the Hon Professor Barry Jones AC who has been a long-standing supporter of the eye health and vision care sector, and continues to support the sector in his role as a Patron of Vision 2020 Australia.

This is the premier annual keynote speech from the eye health and vision care sector.

The 2020 Australian of the Year, ophthalmologist Dr James Muecke AM delivered the inaugural Barry Jones Vision Oration to an online audience in October 2021, due to the ongoing impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Back to top