Our Board & Governance

The Hon Christopher PyneThe Hon Christopher Pyne (Chair)

The Hon Christopher Pyne is Chairman of Pyne and Partners and a Professor in the UniSA Business School amongst other appointments.
Christopher served as a member of Federal Parliament from 1993-2019, leading reforms across the Ageing, Education, Industry Innovation and Science, Defence Industry and Defence portfolios.
Christopher’s father, Remington, was a past President of RANZCO, contributing to the creation of the first National Trachoma and Eye Health Programme.
Christopher has witnessed firsthand, particularly in indigenous communities, the work of the eye sector and is keen to ensure it receives the support it deserves.

Jane SchullerJane Schuller (Deputy Chair)

Jane Schuller has 25 years’ experience in eye health care.
She is a qualified orthoptist in both Australia and the USA and has had 10 years’ experience in large teaching eye hospitals and private ophthalmology practices in Singapore, Bangkok and the USA.
She is President of Orthoptics Australia, past Victorian Chair and has held a number of other state and federal roles.
In 2019, she completed the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Directors Course. She continues to work at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and in several private ophthalmology practices.

Associate Professor Kristopher Rallah-BakerA/Prof Kristopher Rallah-Baker

Dr Rallah-Baker is Australia’s first and currently only Indigenous ophthalmologist. A proud Yuggera and Biri-Gubba man, Kris is a highly respected ophthalmologist and is one of the founding members of the Australian Indigenous Doctors Association, a Director on the Board of the Nova Peris Foundation, and  founding member and Director of the Board of the First Nations Eye Health Alliance.

Kris has presented at numerous ophthalmology and Indigenous health conferences nationally and internationally. He brings a broad base of experience from within clinical ophthalmology, particularly rural and remote ophthalmology, both across Australia and internationally.

Brandon Ah TongBrandon Ah Tong

Brandon has 20 years’ experience working in the eye health sector as an advocacy expert and is currently the Director of Policy & Advocacy with The Fred Hollows Foundation.

His areas of work have spanned the human rights of people living with blindness or low vision, Aboriginal and Torres Strait islander eye health and global eye health and has had the privilege of being a commissioner with the 2021 Lancet Global health Commission on Global Eye Health.

Living with blindness, Brandon brings a perspective that bridges the global with the local and between the imperative to address avoidable blindness with the dignity of living with vision-related disability.

Nitin VermaProf Nitin Verma

Nitin is Past President of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO) and longtime Board Director. He is also a Director of the Macular Disease Foundation of Australia.

He has been active both locally and internationally through my involvement in establishing the eye health program in Timor L’este. 

During his tenure as RANZCO President he oversaw the implementation of the Vision 2030 and beyond plan, which aims to enhance equitable service provision across Australia and develop and maintain a sustainable ophthalmology workforce, with the goal of working towards eliminating avoidable blindness in Australia.

Dr Kate ReidDr Kate Reid

Dr Reid has provided 15 years of service to public Ophthalmology at Canberra Hospital, where she was instrumental in funding Eye Clinic infrastructure projects in excess of $4 million, and initiating patient co-management with both public and private Optometry.

She is an experienced educator, inaugurating then leading the ANU Medical Student Ophthalmology Program for a decade. She is a regular presenter of her research at scientific conferences.

Now in private practice, Dr Reid continues her research interests in neuro-ophthalmology, and her advocacy for utilising limited public Ophthalmology resources as efficiently as possible.

Fiona WoodsFiona Woods

Fiona is the President of Blind Citizens Australia and has been a Director since 2017.

Fiona has also held positions with the National Women’s Branch, has chaired the National Policy Council and led the development of BCA’s Expectations of Service Providers, which sets out what we believe people who are blind and vision impaired should expect when they access services designed for them. In addition, Fiona was a graduate of the first Executive Leadership Program.

Fiona is a passionate advocate for growing awareness of vision impairment, blindness and inclusion, and that access to and knowledge of eye health should not depend on socio-economic or geographical factors.

Dale CleaverDale Cleaver

Dale is the CEO of Guide Dogs NSW/ACT. He was first appointed to the Vision 2020 Australia Board in 2019 and co-opted in March, 2023. 

Dale’s history of working in the health, not for profit and charity sectors includes positions as CEO of Campbell Page (National Provider of Employment Services), CEO of the Royal District Nursing Service South Australia (SA) and prior to this, 17 years with The Australian Red Cross including roles as Acting CEO and National Chief Operating Officer. 

He has a professional passion for making a difference and empowering people with disabilities, and has experience in strategic, operational and transformational change to further increasing the quality of service-based organisations.

Kylie HarrisKylie Harris

Kylie is the Director of Operations at the Australian College of Optometry. Starting her healthcare career as an optometrist, she has held numerous Board positions within eye health. From 2016 to 2020, she served on the Optometry Australia board, during which she was appointed Deputy President in 2018. Prior to her term at Optometry Australia, Kylie served two separate terms on the Optometry Victoria board, and notably held the position of President for the state organisation from 2013 to 2016. She currently holds the position of Sight for All Vice Chair. 

Kylie is passionate about establishing sustainable and inclusive care models for all Australians.

Leah CameronLeah Cameron

Leah is a Trawlwoolway (Palawa) woman from Tasmania and is the founder and principal solicitor of Marrawah Law. 

Since forming the firm in 2013, her philosophy of doing law differently has been the driving force behind Marrawah Law’s growth into one of the largest Indigenous owned and operated law firm in Australia. Leah was recently appointed as one of the independent experts on the esteemed Australian Heritage Council.

Leah is both highly effective in commercial legal practice and influential across government, corporate Australia in advocating for social change.

Damian PappsDamian Papps

Damian is the Executive Director of See Differently and has a strong commitment to social impact and mission driven initiatives. He has three decades of global financial services experience with skills in strategy development, governance and corporate advice.

Damian is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and is an experienced Director having served on several Boards.

Since 2011 he has specialised in Healthcare, with a focus on Aged Care and Retirement Living, hospitals, pharmacy, medical specialists, general practice and disability services. 

Vision 2020 Australia Governance Documents

Back to top