NDIA Announces New Board Chair, Board Members and Chief Executive

photo of Maryanne Diamond, Kurt Fearnley and Graeme Innes. Text says ‘NDIA Board Announcements’ next to Vision 2020 logo

Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme, Bill Shorten, today announced a new Chair and Board of the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) and a new CEO for the agency.

Australian Paralympic legend and disability advocate Kurt Fearnley AO has been appointed Chair of the Board of the NDIA. The NDIA Board will also welcome new members Dr Graeme Innes AM and Ms Maryanne Diamond AO.

There are now five people with disability on the NDIA Board, including current board members Leah van Poppel and Meredith Allan. Dr Denis Napthine AO, formerly Chair, will return as a Board Member.

The National Disability Scheme (NDIS) will also have a new Chief Executive, with Rebecca Falkingham PSM accepting the role.

Ms Falkingham has extensive experience leading departments and major projects in NSW and Victoria. She joins the NDIS after spending several years as the Secretary of the Victorian Department of Justice and Community Safety in Victoria. Ms Falkingham will be the first permanent female Chief Executive of the NDIA.

Vision 2020 Australia is thrilled by today’s announcement, particularly the appointments of Graeme and Maryanne, as people who understand blindness and vision loss.

We look forward to working with the entire NDIA leadership to improve support and approaches for people who are blind and have low vision.