Vision 2020 Australia’s 16th Annual General Meeting

Vision 2020 Australia’s 16th Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held this morning in Melbourne with 14 member organisations in attendance and a further 20 members represented by proxy, comprising 89% of voting members.  A key item at the AGM included the election of Directors to the Board.

Vision 2020 Australia Chair, the Hon Amanda Vanstone presented the 2015-16 Annual General Report and the Directors’ and Auditor Reports, including financials for the year ending 30 June 2016 (also available on the website).

Carla Northam, incoming Vision 2020 Australia Chief Executive Officer (CEO) at the commencement of the 2016-17 financial year, presented an outline of the future direction of the organisation.

Continuing Directors not standing for election included the Hon Amanda Vanstone (Chair), Professor Hugh Taylor AC (Deputy Chair), Ms Amanda Davis, Mrs Jane Edge, Dr Jessica Gallagher and Mr Justin Mohamed.

Two directors, Dr Iain Dunlop and Professor Brian Layland OAM, having completed three, three year terms were ineligible for re-election. Three directors, Ms Karen Hayes, Mr John Howie and Ms Maureen O’Keefe, having completed one, three year term, were eligible for re-election to another two, three year terms.

Following an election by poll, pursuant to Article 24.2 of the Constitution, the new and returning Directors elected to the Vision 2020 Australia Board were:

1.    Anthony Bennett Hall

2.    Andrew Harris

3.    Karen Hayes

4.    John Howie AM

5.    Maureen O’Keefe

The event was held at the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons in Melbourne.