Annual General Meeting (AGM) items

The 16th Annual General Meeting of Vision 2020 The Right to Sight Australia (‘Vision 2020 Australia’) will be held at 11.00am (AEDT) Tuesday 29 November 2016 at the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons in the Council Room, College of Surgeons’ Gardens, 250-290 Spring Street, East Melbourne, Victoria 3002. 

Please indicate your attendance by Tuesday 22 November 2016 by contacting Karen Bignell at Vision 2020 Australia; or 03 9656 2020.


Ordinary Business 

  1. Chair’s welcome and meeting declared open
  2. Noting of apologies
  3. Minutes of the 2014-15 Annual General Meeting- To receive and consider the minutes of the 2015 Annual General Meeting. 
  4. Chair’s address
  5. Presentation of Annual Report 2015-16
  6. Chief Executive Officer’s report
  7. Financial statements and reports -To receive and consider the Financial Report of Vision 2020 Australia and the Reports of the Directors and Auditor in respect of the year ended 30 June 2016.
  8. Appointment of Auditor – Saward Dawson has agreed to act as Auditor of Vision 2020 Australia for the 2016-17 financial year. Saward Dawson has been nominated by the Vision 2020 Australia Board. To consider and, if thought fit, to pass the following ordinary resolution  ‘That Saward Dawson having consented in writing, be appointed as Auditor of Vision 2020 Australia for 2016-17’. 
  9. Election of Directors 
Two directors, Dr Iain Dunlop and Professor Brian Layland OAM, will have completed three, three year terms, thus are ineligible for re-election. Three directors, Karen Hayes, John Howie and Maureen O’Keefe, will have completed one, three year term, thus are eligible for election to another two, three year terms.
Nominations in the proper form under Article 31.2 have been received from: 
  • Lyn Allison 
  • Adjunct Professor Craig Bennett 
  • John Davis  
  • Kerry Gallagher   
  • Anthony Bennett Hall 
  • Andrew Harris  
  • Karen Hayes (current Board member)  
  • John Howie AM (current Board member)  
  • Maureen O’Keefe (current Board member) 
The maximum number of directors under Article 28.1 of the Vision 2020 Australia Constitution is eleven. Since there are nine candidates for the maximum of five positions available, there will be an election of Directors at this meeting. The Chair has determined, pursuant to Article 24.2 that the election will be determined by a poll.
In the event the member organisation’s elected representative is not able to attend the 2016 Vision 2020 Australia Annual General Meeting to cast their vote, they may nominate a proxy to vote on their behalf. Please use the attached form to appoint a proxy. The deadline for receipt of proxy forms is 11.00am on Friday 25 November 2016.
Biographies of nominees and the Proxy form are available to download below. Click on the links to access: Minutes of the 2015 Annual General Meeting, Directors’ and Auditor’s Reports including Financial Statements prepared by Saward Dawson.
General Business