2020 Annual General Meeting

Notice is given that the 20th Annual General Meeting of Vision 2020 The Right to Sight Australia (‘Vision 2020 Australia’) will be held at 2.00pm (AEDT) Wednesday 11 November 2020 via Zoom.

Vision 2020 Australia members are requested to RSVP by Wednesday November 4, 2020 to, after which time attendees will be sent an electronic invitation with log in details for the meeting.


Ordinary Business

1. Welcome and meeting declared open
2. Noting of apologies
3. Minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting
Purpose of item: To receive and consider the minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting.
Proposed resolution: That the minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting as tabled be accepted.

 4. Electronic ballot to elect directors

Purpose of item: To conduct an electronic ballot to elect directors to the six available Board positions.
Background to item: Current Board Directors Dr David Andrews, Ms Megan McAlpine and the Hon Amanda Vanstone AO end their current terms (in line with Article 28.3 of the Constitution) and are not seeking re-election. There is also a casual vacancy due to the resignation of Mr Justin Mohamed.

Current Board Directors Ms Jacqueline Adams-Barton and Dr Jessica Gallagher have completed their current terms and, being eligible for reappointment, offer themselves for re-election. Nominations in the proper form under Article 31.2 have also been received from:

  • Mr Mitchell Anjou AM
  • Assoc Prof Heather Mack
  • The Hon Christopher Pyne
  • Ms Jane Schuller
  • Mr Shaun Tatipata

As seven applications have been received for the six positions available, the Chairperson has determined, pursuant to Article 24.2 that the election will be determined by an electronic ballot to be conducted at the commencement of the Annual General Meeting.

All members eligible to vote will be requested to complete the electronic ballot at this point in the meeting, to enable tallying of votes while the meeting proceeds. The Chair will announce the names of the successful candidates at the Annual General Meeting once advised of these by the independent returning officer. Details of how to participate in the electronic ballot will be provided at the meeting.

The directors whose terms continue into next year (Mr Dale Cleaver, Mr Andrew Harris, Ms Dee Hopkins, Ms Maureen O’Keefe and Mr Tony Starkey) advise that should the membership elect the Hon Christopher Pyne as a director, they will be recommending to the new Board that he be appointed its next Chairperson.

5. Chair’s address and presentation of Annual Report 2019-20
6. Chief Executive Officer’s report
7. Financial statements and reports
Purpose of item: To receive and consider the Financial Report of Vision 2020 Australia and the Reports of the Directors and Auditor in respect of the year ended 30 June 2020.

8. Special resolution
Purpose of item: To consider and if thought fit approve the following resolution which is proposed as a special resolution:  That the words “by 2020” be removed from the preamble (page ii) of the Vision 2020 Australia Constitution
Background to item:
The Vision 2020 Australia Constitution’s preamble states that members of Vision 2020 Australia (are) “Dedicated to the elimination of avoidable blindness in Australia by 2020 and to supporting maximum community participation for those with vision loss”.

As the organisation will continue to operate beyond 2020, this resolution is proposed to ensure the Constitution removes this time limitation, reflecting the continuing commitment of members to work together.

Under section 51 of the Constitution, alterations to the Constitution can only be made by special resolution passed at a general meeting of the members.

9. Election of Directors
Purpose of item: To announce the results of the ballot to elect directors to the Board
The Chair will announce the names of the six people elected to the Vision 2020 Australia Board.

10. Acknowledgement of retiring directors
11. Meeting close

2020 AGM director nominees – short biographies 

Vision 2020 Australia Financial Statements

Minutes of 2019 Annual General Meeting

2020 Proxy Form