2019 Annual General Meeting

Notice of Annual General Meeting

Notice is given that the 19th Annual General Meeting of Vision 2020 The Right to Sight Australia (‘Vision 2020 Australia’) will be held at 11.00am (AEDT) Wednesday 13 November 2019 in Melbourne at the Save the Children Australia building, Ground Floor, 33 Lincoln Square South, Carlton, Victoria.

The AGM will be followed by light refreshments and a chance to see our new offices on level 3 of the same building.

Please confirm if you will attend by Wednesday 6 November 2019 by contacting Jess Darwishpanah at Vision 2020 Australia (


Ordinary Business

  1. Welcome and meeting declared open
  2. Noting of apologies
  3. Minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting

To receive and consider the minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting.

  1. Chair’s address and presentation of Annual Report 2018-19
  2. Chief Executive Officer’s report
  3. Financial statements and reports

Purpose of item: To receive and consider the Financial Report of Vision 2020 Australia and the Reports of the Directors and Auditor in respect of the year ended 30 June 2019.

  1. Appointment of Auditor

Purpose of item:  To consider and, if thought fit, to pass the following ordinary resolution:

‘That Saward Dawson having consented in writing, be appointed as Auditor of Vision 2020 Australia for 2019-23’.

Background to item:

The Vision 2020 Australia Board has nominated Saward Dawson to be its 2019-23 auditor following completion of a tender process, Saward Dawson has indicated it is willing to do so.

  1. Election of Directors

Purpose of item:  To make an appointment to elect directors to fill Board vacancies via the proposed resolution:

‘At the date of this Notice, five nominations have been received from Mr Dale Cleaver, Mr Andrew Harris, Ms Dee Hopkins, Ms Maureen O’Keefe and Mr Tony Starkey. As there are five vacancies available, all five nominees will be declared elected at the Annual General Meeting in accordance with clause 31.6 of the Constitution.’

Background to item:

Current Board Directors Mr Andrew Harris and Ms Maureen O’Keefe end their current term (in line with Article 28.3 of the Constitution) and, being eligible for reappointment, offer themselves for re-election.

The following co-opted Director ends his current term (under Article 28.7) and being eligible for reappointment, offers himself for re-election:

  • Mr Dale Cleaver.

Nominations in the proper form under Article 31.2 have also been received from:

  • Ms Dee Hopkins
  • Mr Tony Starkey

Note – Biography of nominees, minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting, Directors’ and Auditor’s Reports including Financial Statements are available below.

  1. General Business

The meeting will officially close and be followed by an update from each of the four Vision 2020 Australia policy committee chairs:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people – Dr Dawn Casey PSM
  • Independence and Participation – Mr John Simpson
  • Global – Mr Gerhard Schlenther
  • Prevention and Early Intervention – Ms Marion Rivers

Related documents

2018 Annual General Meeting Minutes

2019 AGM Director Nominee bios

Vision 2020 Australia Financial Statements

2018 Annual General Meeting Minutes Word Doc

2019 AGM Director Nominee bios Word Doc