Australia Day Honours 2016

Vision 2020 Australia congratulates individuals who have been honoured in the Australia Day 2016 Honours List. A number of individuals working in Australian healthcare were recognised for their work in ophthalmology, blind and low vision services, and work with Indigenous youth. A few of the selected recipients were: 

The late Mr John Alfred Shute – For service to the blind and those with low vision.

Dr Brian Campbell McFarlane – For service to the arts as a teacher, film critic, reviewer and author.

Ms June Helen Treadwell – For service to education, to Vision Australia, and to the Anglican Church of Australia.

Dr Lyon Phillip Robinson – For significant service to medicine, particularly as a pioneer in the field of ophthalmic surgery.

Professor Minas Theodore Coroneo – For distinguished service to ophthalmology, to the research and development of innovative surgical technologies and devices, and to eye health in regional and Indigenous communities.

Dr Jay Chandra – For significant service to medicine in the field of ophthalmology as a clinician, and to the international community through eye care programs.