2021 Vision 2020 Australia Annual General Meeting

Vision 2020 Australia’s 21st Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held on Wednesday, 10 November 2021 online via Zoom, and the 2020-21 Annual Report can now be downloaded in PDF or accessible word formats on our website.

At the AGM, Chair Christopher Pyne described Vision 2020 Australia as an organisation with sound financial management and governance, and highlighted the significant engagement achieved with key decision makers in Canberra – noting meetings with Prime Minister Scott Morrison, Senator the Hon Zed Seselja and Senator the Hon Linda Reynolds during the 2020-21 period.

Mr Pyne also paid tribute to all previous directors who have served on the Vision 2020 Australia board over the organisation’s 21-year history, acknowledging each of them by name.

“As one of the newest members of the Board, I am particularly aware of those who have gone before me and helped build the organisation to the place we find it today,” he said.

“These are voluntary roles that require Directors to dedicate a significant portion of their time and energies to ensuring the good governance and strong strategic direction required to navigate a small organisation such as our through constantly changing circumstances.”

Previous Vision 2020 Australia CEO Judith Abbott, who led the organisation for the period covered by the AGM, returned to speak to some of the highlights of the year, including the lodgement of 21 submissions to government and the establishment of the National Eye Research Collaborative.

Mr Tony Starkey, Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee, presented the Auditor Reports, including financials for the year ending 30 June 2021, noting that the organisation continued to be in a sound financial position.

There were no Board vacancies, with all current members continuing in their positions for the 2021-22 period.

Vision 2020 Australia’s 2020-21 Annual Report can now be downloaded in PDF or accessible word formats.

You can also read the Chair’s report from each policy committee: