Our Board

Amanda Vanstone

The Hon Amanda Vanstone

Qualifications: BA; LLB; GradDipLegalPrac; CertMktg.
Experience: Chair, Royal Flying Doctor Australia; Board Member, Drinkwise Australia; Director, Port Adelaide Football Club; Member, Referendum Council on constitutional recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples; Board Member, Governors of the Institute for International Trade; Chair, Samstag Museum Advisory Board; Member, Adelaide Festival Board.


Hugh Taylor

Professor Hugh Taylor AC

Deputy Chair
Qualifications: LLD (Hons); MD; MB; BS; BMedSc; DO; FRANZCO; FRACS; FAAO; FACS; FAICD.
Experience: Harold Mitchell Chair of Indigenous Eye Health; Indigenous Eye Health, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, The University of Melbourne; Melbourne Laureate Professor, The University of Melbourne; President, International Council of Ophthalmology; Board Member, International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness. 


Amanda DavisMs Amanda Davis

Member, Corporate and Governance Committee
Qualifications: Dip Nursing; BBus; MPH.
Experience: Global Chief Operating Officer, Brien Holden Vision Institute—Public Health Division; Regional Director for Asia Pacific, Brien Holden Vision Institute; Member, National Advisory Committee for Optometry Giving Sight (Australia); Director, Optometry Giving Sight (Global); Director, PNG Eyecare.



Dr Jessica GallagherDr Jessica Gallagher

Member, Audit and Finance Committee 
Qualifications: B.App.Sci, M.Ost
Experience: Global Ambassador, Vision 2020 Australia; Ambassador and Events Committee Member, Vision Australia/ Seeing Eye Dogs; Keynote motivational speakers; Osteopath;  World Champion, Tandem Match Sprint (2016), Paralympic medallist, Winter Paralympic Games (2010, 2014) and Summer Paralympic Games (2012 and 2016).


Anthony Bennett HallMr Anthony Bennett Hall 

Experience: Director, Newcastle Eye Hospital Research Foundation;  Director, Kilimanjaro Centre for Community Ophthalmology; Former Medical Advisor, CBM Tanzania; Founding Member, Eastern African College of Ophthalmologists; Vitreo-Retinal Surgeon; Conjoint Senior Lecturer in Ophthalmology at the University of Newcastle; Chair, RANZCO International Development Committee; Member, RANZCO Council; Member, Vision 2020 Australia Global Committee.


Andrew HarrisDr Andrew Harris 

Member, Audit and Finance Committee
Experience: Immediate former National President, Optometry Australia; Former Director, Optometry Australia; Former President, Optometry Victoria; Former Director, Optometry Victoria; Former Member; National Vision Research Institute Board; Former President, Australian College of Optometry;  Former Councillor,  Australian College of Optometry; Graduate, Australian Institute of Company Directors.



Karen HayesMs Karen Hayes

Member, Corporate and Governance Committee
Qualifications: FAICD; FAIM.
Experience: Chief Executive Officer, Guide Dogs Victoria; Board Member, Multiple Sclerosis Australia; Board Member, Melbourne International Comedy Festival; Founding Member, International Women’s Forum - Australian Chapter; Member, Women Chiefs of Enterprise International.


John HowieMr John Howie AM

Chair, Corporate and Governance Committee 
Member, Code of Conduct Committee

Qualifications: LLB.
Experience: Practicing Solicitor; Deputy Chair, Monsalvat Ltd; Board Member, The John Cain Foundation; Chair, Avoca Project.


Maureen O'KeefeMs Maureen O’Keefe

Chair, Audit and Finance Committee 
Qualifications:  BSc(Hons); MBA; DipEd; GAICD, WCLP.
Experience: CEO and Board Member, Australian College of Optometry/ National Vision Research Institute; Board Member, ARC Centre of Excellence in Convergent Bio-Nano Science and Technology; Member, Ministerial (Health) Clinical Trial Research Consultative Council; Deputy Chair, BioMelbourne Network.


Justin MohamedMr Justin Mohamed

Qualifications: MHSocSc (studying), Adv Dip Bus Mgmt, Cert IV Mgt SocComServ

Experience: CEO, Reconciliation Australia; Chair, National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation; Chair, the Victorian Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation; Co-Chair, National Health Leadership; Chairperson and CEO, Rumbalara Aboriginal Co-operative; Director, Greater Western Sydney Giants Foundation; Chairperson, Ganbina; Board Member, Supply Nation; Co-Chair, Cricket Australia’s National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Cricket Advisory Committee (NATSICAC).

Back to top